Cultural differences

I got to meet some other exchange students a few days ago. I met one of the other girls in the city today, and we talked about what’s different here so far. So, without further ado, a list of things we’ve notices are different:

  1. Everyone here dresses well all the time. Seriously. They all look like they just stepped off a runway.
  2. Apparently we eat a lot slower? Both of us said that our host families had mentioned how slowly we eat. I thought maybe it was just me but maybe Americans just don’t eat very fast.
  3. We talk louder than almost anyone else. In general, I guess they have really quiet conversations here?
  4. The stray dogs. I’m going to have to take pictures of them and make a post just about strays because I definitely wasn’t expecting there to be so many. If anyone reading this is going to Romania, no one is exaggerating when they talk about the dogs. They’re all over.
  5. The food is so much better! The bread is all fresh and there’s a market where you can buy produce and meats and cheeses (we walked through it today.) Side note: if you ever have a chance, try shaorma. Just do it.

I’m sure I’m missing some of the things we talked about, but I can always talk about them later. (: Anyways, I had a lot of fun today. We met up in the center of town and kind of just explored for a while, which was pretty great. We found the school we’ll probably be going to and agreed to have lots of study sessions in coffee shops.

I never thought I’d be saying this, but I’m actually kind of excited for school to start. Not the actual school part, maybe, but meeting new people and making friends is going to be a lot of fun! Sometime soon we’re going to have to get school supplies (but not today because neither of us wanted to carry them around for two hours.)

That’s about all I’ve got to say for now. Until next time~

3 thoughts on “Cultural differences

  1. Shawn says:

    We eat slower? Never would have guessed that. Thanks for the update. Rocket misses you. 🙂

  2. pgy63 says:

    How many students did you meet and what states are they from?

  3. Three others, but one of them is going home now. :/ She was from Brazil. The other two are from Pennsylvania and Arkansas. (: Another girl is supposed to be coming from Mexico, but none of us have met her yet.

talk to me!

